25 Words

 

 

Blogger Liz Strauss has invited her readers to participate in an intriguing challenge: Put 25 words of advice or wisdom in a blog post. Having just come off a challenge to write 50 thousand words, I thought I could manage twenty-five. Twenty-five words is easy.

Smoothing her skirt and straightening her shoulders, the young woman faced the door to the boardroom, took hold of the knob, and entered with confidence.

To her surprise, the room erupted with applause: clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap.

See? Easy.

But twenty-five words with meaning? That’s the challenge. Liz’s own offerings ring true, like insightful poetry. So I found myself pondering the subject for days, wondering what I could say.

Today, reading others’ creations, it came to me how much they resemble Twitter posts. And that reminded me of a moment of enlightenment I recently experienced—which I Twittered. I looked it up, added three words, and here it is:

It’s not enough to have, you also need to hold.
Whether love, talents, or possessions—
Love must be enjoyed,
Talents and possessions used.
Take action.

 

mousewords is moving to its own site soon–Subscribe here!
© 2008 Christine Taylor

Published in: on July 19, 2008 at 12:52 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mousewords.wordpress.com/2008/07/19/25-words/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like very much “moment of enlightenment”, and maybe it’s time to see Twitter and Plurk like a way to give better creation from ourselves, to share our wisdom and to support others to come out what is best in their soul. 🙂

  2. Like I said before, I can always count on you for a great quote! (And even this compliment doesn’t cover it).

  3. PS. Can’t wait to see the new home!

  4. And you came through with beautiful words that offer deep meaning. Thank you for setting those words here for all of us.

  5. @Raavi, that’s a wonderful way to look at microblogging sites like Twitter and Plurk.com. Awesome idea!

    @Ricardo, 🙂

    @Liz, That means a lot to me–thank you!

  6. It’s not enough to have, you also need to hold.
    Whether love, talents, or possessions—
    Love must be enjoyed,
    Talents and possessions used.
    Take action
    Your this 25 words really powerfull. We need to really feel it[ love ], Do not waste the talents, exploit it. For possessions, use and share it.
    I simply enjoy your 25 words.
    Best wishes from coolingstar9

  7. Hiya! Thanks for being a good sport and letting me share that with some of my readers 🙂 I’ve always enjoyed your random quotes and this one really hits home with what my blog is all about! Anyway, I just wanted to tell you publicly (here in the comments) that I really appreciate it.

  8. Thank you! And I appreciate the honor…thank you! 🙂

  9. […] spaceagesage Claire Raikes Dennis Salazar Brad Shorr Mother Earth Katie KonrathSuzie Cheel Christine Taylor Tom Volkar Todd Jordan Stephen Smith Peter Knight Joe Hauckes theFemGeek Bobby Clark Meryl333 Liz […]

  10. […] spaceagesage Claire Raikes Dennis Salazar Brad Shorr Mother Earth Katie KonrathSuzie Cheel Christine Taylor Tom Volkar Todd Jordan Stephen Smith Peter Knight Joe Hauckes theFemGeek Bobby Clark Meryl333 Liz […]

  11. […] Christine Taylor said: […]

  12. […] , Claire Raikes, Dennis Salazar, Brad Shorr , Mother Earth , Katie Konrath, Suzie Cheel , Christine Taylor, Tom Volkar, Todd Jordan , Stephen Smith, Peter Knight , Joe Hauckes, theFemGeek, Bobby Clark, […]

  13. […] spaceagesage Claire Raikes Dennis Salazar Brad Shorr Mother Earth Katie KonrathSuzie Cheel Christine Taylor Tom Volkar Todd Jordan Stephen Smith Peter Knight Joe Hauckes theFemGeek Bobby Clark Meryl333 Liz […]


Leave a comment