Night of Stars

 

Night deepens. The world sleeps in quietude. Balmy air moves softly–carries the gentle sound of waves touching the shore somewhere beyond.

Humanity stands in the silence, and reaches outward. Soul yearning for what is as deep and real without as what is within. Yearning for purpose, explanation, identity.

Eyes are drawn to the night sky.

The panoply of sky answers in return.

The Pleiades sparkle with ephemeral grace. Sisters, blue diamond jewels on black velvet. A string of precious gems, the garland of queens. Glowing with the ageless wisdom of forever, the peace of eternity. Quiet eyes shining bright with secrets unknown. Hung in the sky as a reminder of the innate beauty of femininity; the inheritance of royalty as daughters of Creation’s King. Beauty to be worn with exultation and fearless joy. Placed in the universe to shine, to glow from the light within. A priceless gift to be treasured by any to whom it is entrusted.

Orion watches over them in the towering night sky. Heroic symbol of manhood, kinetic with action, purest depiction of strength. A very Son of God. The imprint of the Creator is his form. The most beautiful mysteries of the universe dwell within him, shine from him. Expressing hidden fathoms of knowledge, awaiting discovery. His shape spreads across the panoply of sky like that of a man mountain. Overwhelming beside the delicacy of the string of sisters. Yet armed as protector. Strength that rules the night; nobility and kingship that evoke admiration. Honor that saves.

Painted into the canvas of the night by the hand of God. Knowing that yearning within the human soul would draw the eyes upward. Aeons before the question was asked, God answered with stars. Here is the identity of humanity. Grace and strength. Beauty and mystery. Wisdom and knowledge. Thou art made from the stuff of stars. See thy face in the rapture of the heavens, and know that it was painted by the hand that ignited suns at time’s birth.

Know that you are holy.

And your inheritance is as the sons and daughters of Heaven’s King.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mousewords.wordpress.com/2008/01/13/night-of-stars/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Christine, I think were buzzing on similar frequencies. Your writing is beautiful, elegant and has a tone in which should be read slowly so that each words meaning can be soaked in. Your love shows, and if you don’t mind I’d like to think of myself as that overlooking Orion…that would make me feel good. Thank you for the inspiration.
    Always sending love
    Keith

  2. Beautiful! Most people feel small when they look at the stars, but you’ve painted a different word-picture. The stars do show us who we are… and Whose we are. 🙂

  3. I see you paint with words as well as with a brush! 🙂

  4. Thank you!

  5. Amen! “The Heavens declare the glory of the Lord…”

  6. Christine… your writing sounds like your art looks!!! I love it!!

    BTW: You’re IT! I’ve tagged you in my blog!

    Here are the rules:
    1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog. 2. Share 5 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird. 3. Tag 5 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs. 4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

    ~Melanie (thecreatorspalette)

  7. Very moving.

  8. Christine,

    Please come and read my journey blog. It’s not my art blog it’s at http://melanie-journey.blogspot.com

    I was sent an award and asked to pass it on to 7 of my favorite bloggers and you are one of them! I love your writings.

    ~Melanie

  9. Chris-
    You already know I’ve read this before-someone ^ there said how carefully these words should be read, this is so true. I’ve had many a person say to me how it was difficult to understand what I write…I think they fail to slow down (not slamming them, it’s soooo hard to slow down these days, our technology, blessed as it may be, just drives us along, as does our cultural mindset, at a nearly reckless speed)…they fail to slow down and actually read it word for word, string for string-I’m not that intelligent that what I write is beyond comprehension…and I usually don’t say something completely meaningless…and I’m as guilty as the next as well, for I’ve done the same-making that mistake is how I learned to spot it, and, with luck, to avoid it in the future…
    anyway…I’m a better person just because you are an author. Thank you.
    ~!jesatiu

  10. You just don’t know how that has meaning for me. Thank you so very much.

  11. Wow…my awe at your writing matches my awe about the lunar eclipse last night. May you be supported by the universe to keep sharing your beauitful gifts with us. I feel so blessed to have met you on Twitter and to now learn more about you in the Creative Sage Circle. Peace, love and greatness to you from now on.


Leave a comment