I’m Not As Cranky Anymore

I can’t stand it, but sometimes I catch myself with such negative, defeatist, discouraged thoughts.  I was just doing that without realizing it.  I’m working on managing my client’s (sister’s) photography business details right now, and I was feeling the press of too much to do, not enough time in which to do it, thoughts of how I could have done some things better—or managed my time more properly.   Thoughts getting tangled, going down, down, down, into the realm of grumbling.

I have Christmas music on repeat…you know how it is with “repeat,” it becomes a nice background, and you hardly hear it, except for a word here and there.  It’s that way for me, at least.   But suddenly, as my thoughts grew gnarled and dingy, suddenly, all I could hear was the music.

Todd Agnew singing “God With Us.”  Emmanuel, God With Us.  The King abides with us.  Todd Agnew’s raspy, powerful voice, with a soaring chorus as accompaniment.  Symphony music that wraps around one’s heart and pulls it Heavenward with silver strings.  Ending on the soft hint of the timeless notes to “We Three Kings”…the Magi.

The King abides with us.  Suddenly I feel like I can do anything in the world, in record time.  Suddenly I know my King is here with me.  I see golden lights where there used to be darkness.  I feel arms surrounding me, as a safe refuge. 

I’m not alone…it will be all right.  Thanks, Todd.   

And thank you, my King.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mousewords.wordpress.com/2007/11/29/im-not-as-cranky-anymore/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

