Trivia Matters

(c) mousewords

 

(c) mousewords

 

The writer Lynn Abbey said, “One of my great passions is the collection of historical trivia.”

Is every writer a researcher? I was home-schooled through High School. I had to struggle to make it through my senior year of history…on time. I would read one blurb about, say, Cardinal Richelieu, and suddenly I’d be off in my own world, crafting a story line inspired by a real-life villain. My history book would be shoved aside, and I’d reach for my handy pad of drawing paper and a pencil. My history lesson for the day wouldn’t get done, but I’d write a few pages of a graphic novel.

It’s the same for me to this day. Even when I’m busy writing a novel, I’m easily distracted when doing research. I have reams of pages and hundreds of computer files filled with little blurbs and minutiae, from every subject under the sun. Each one sparks a fire of imagination in my mind, and sets me thinking away on another planet.

Did you know…

This past spring it was announced that water was detected on planet HD209458b—the first planet outside our solar system to show signs of water

A hyperpolyglot is one who can speak six or more languages fluently

Each file on an NTFS volume is listed as a record in a special file called the Master File Table (MFT)

A fen is a low, flat, swampy land; a bog or marsh

HC Andersen, Cuddle Up, Robbie Burns, Taboo, and Iced Raspberry are all names of roses

“God kveld” is “Good night” in Norwegian

And the infamous Cardinal Richelieu was known as Éminence Rouge, or Red Eminence, from the color of his habit.

I’ve got a million of ’em.

Literally.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mousewords.wordpress.com/2007/10/01/101/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. nice pencil drawings!

  2. Thanks very much!🙂🙂


Leave a Reply

