Send Me

I recently read in a Newsweek article that Congo Ranger Paulin Ngobobo is a “devout Christian.” I’m one, myself. As I read of the atrocities towards the gorillas and the torture and personal danger Paulin has faced in his work, I immediately wondered if he had been praying to the Lord for help.

And I couldn’t help wondering if the Lord had sent me.

Through her art for the upcoming auction, one of my fellow eBay artists asked the challenging question, “Am I my brother’s keeper?”

The answer for all of us? Yes.

Yes, it is our responsibility to look out for one another. Mother Theresa once said, “If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other.” Though I’ve never met Paulin Ngobobo, and only heard of him for the first time last month, he is my brother in Christ. Having heard of the danger he faces, how can I now turn my back on him?

Isaiah 6 quotes, “And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?’ Then I said, ‘Here am I! Send me.'”

Some time ago, I said that very prayer. I was eager to make a difference in this world. At that time, however, I had no clue about the ways the Lord would choose to call me. It’s not always been a call I expected, or a path I knew how to tread. Often I’ve felt timid, afraid, and very weak when I see the task He’s given me.

But is that enough of an excuse not to go when He calls?

I don’t know why He placed this cause on my heart, but I’ve heard it from Him. Now it’s my job to do the work that lies before me. Scary? Yes. Daunting? Surely. But it’s my call. And unless I choose to turn my back on it, I need to press on.

There are so many worthy causes in the world today. So much work that needs to be done. To look at it all, it seems insurmountable. So many tasks…but on the other hand, there are so very many people in this world.

What if each of us were to take one?

“Here am I…send me.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mousewords.wordpress.com/2007/09/04/send-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

