Art4Gorillas–Latest Update!

So is today Monday? I was up until five last night getting last-minute things done. Specifically HTML for the Art Helping Mountain Gorillas charity auction listing next Saturday. Take it from me, don’t try to do HTML at four in the morning. It makes even LESS sense than usual!

 But so here I am, cotton-headed, bleary-eyed, facing a bright new day with a very large mug of coffee in one hand and a pencil in the other.  Take a look, here’s my latest work-in-progress!

This will be one of the pieces I auction for the charity. At a whopping two-and-a-half inches wide by three-and-a-half inches tall, this is what’s known as an ACEO. Right now we’re in preliminary pencil drawing stage. I block out the composition with a gesture drawing that establishes the feeling I want to capture with the piece. The next step will be studying reference photographs and cleaning up any incorrect details.

A WIP can be an amazing thing; often a work turns out in a completely different direction from what I anticipated. I just finished the one that’s been sitting in my blog’s art gallery for a few months:

“Storming” 4×6 WIP by mousewords'Storming' by mousewords

 

You can check out my “Art” page above for a description.

The word form the Congo is that the world has been turned upside-down overnight; a baby boy gorilla, born recently, was sadly killed when two adult silverbacks were fighting. On the human end of the spectrum, the rangers have had to temporarily leave the gorillas unprotected so that they can focus on evacuating their human counterparts from a war-torn area. Please keep these people and creatures in your prayers and thoughts.

Many people the world over need such prayers! While we’re at it, let’s wash the whole planet in caring thoughts and prayer petitions! We can all certainly use it, and it will bring us a bit closer together. 

I hope you all are enjoying a great holiday weekend with the ones you care most about in the world. Give them a hug today!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mousewords.wordpress.com/2007/09/03/art4gorillas-latest-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] is the inked version of the pencil drawing I posted a couple days ago. I love this stage–the sketchy linework seems to come to life, […]


Leave a Reply

